One Year Later…

It’s been just over a year since my motorcycle accident. The road to recovery has been long and  very frustrating at times. Getting over the physical limitations and mental roadblocks was and still is challenging. I am not 100% yet, but I still have about six months to fully recover as my orthopaedic surgeon informed me that it takes about a year to a year and a half for a fractured femur to fully recover.

Since it’s been a year, settling my accident benefits is a possibility, which means I can put an end to this chapter in my life. The thing about ending one chapter is that I must start another, which is both scary and exciting at the same time. I have to admit that the thing I’m most uncertain about is what I’m going to do for work. Since I am not 100% I can’t go back to construction because of the physicality of the job, which I actually enjoyed. I guess it’s back to the drawing board.

So here I am trying to figure out what I’m going to do with my life. I recently took up photography and I think I’m going to run with it for awhile and see what happens.

My future isn’t full of uncertainty as I have a lot of things I am looking forward to. I am actually moving to London, UK to be with my girlfriend and to start a new life, something I have grown accustomed to. I have already done it twice, the first time in Banff, Alberta and the second time in Vancouver, BC. I actually just got back from Europe last Saturday and applied for my UK Visa the day after (read my blog post about applying for my UK Visa here). Although I’ve done it before, starting a new life again feels different this time. Maybe it’s because it’s a new country, or because I’m older or maybe it’s because I know I am finally going to be with my girlfriend after being long distance for the majority of our short relationship, I haven’t figured it out yet. Regardless of what the reason is, the feeling is good. I am excited and very much looking forward to it.

Published by

justjonell

Aspiring travel photographer

Leave a Reply

